Back to College

   I had a son at a young age and was forced out of school early. I never graduated nor even thought of college. It was too hard. How was I to find a babysitter? How was I going to get there with no car? How…how…how…how seemed to be the only question running through my mind in the early 2000s. I just didn’t think it would work for me. I wanted to become someone smarter, someone who has a career and not a job. I wanted to be able to say, “Yes I went to college” and do what I loved, not just do what I had to do to get by. But that is what ended up happening. I was doing what I could to get by. To put food on the table, clothes on my son, a roof over our heads and money to pay those ever mounting bills.

   I battled homelessness off and on for a total of 11 years. A friend of mine bought me a computer and printer because he said he didn’t like me going to the library to do the work I needed to do (I sold Avon at the time). In 2009, I went to Durham Technical Community College and received my GED in three months.

   It wasn’t until I was pregnant in 2011 that I decided to go back to school. I received my Medical Office Management certificate in 2012. I was a little unhappy because it was a certificate and I was under the impression that it was something else. I have not used this to my advantage yet. I am doing some job searching this week and I do think that it will come in handy!

   After my now ex-fiancee talked about going to school for a degree in substance abuse, that I realized I wanted to go back to school for what I have always wanted to do. To help others. Something horrific happened to me at 13 years old, battling homelessness and the huge heart that my daddy gave me made me want to help others, especially those that fall into the categories just mentioned. Originally, my dream ever since middle school was to be an Egyptologist (The scientific study of ancient Egypt). This became more and more farther from my view each year. I needed something reasonable so I decided to go back to school.

   Unlike the first school that I just jumped at because I saw it on television, I researched schools to make sure I found the right one that fit me and the one that I could do everything online. I took a couple of months, I tried not to be in a hurry because I didn’t want to just dive right in with anyone. I had to have the perfect match for me and a perfect match for the college.

   I ended up starting at one that was on television coincidentally. Southern New Hampshire University. I spoke with them like I was interviewing them for a job! They offered a lot of courses online. I spoke with an advisor and we together decided that a Bachelors in Sociology was what I needed as seeing you can not get your Bachelors nor Masters in Social Work online. This was the next best thing. I am four weeks into my first semester and am very happy. I will graduate in four years. I plan to save up so that I can hopefully walk across that stage and receive my diploma that way. I didn’t get to go to prom no finish high school, so this is important to me.

   I am 31 years old. A mother of a brilliant 13-year-old and a cute little 2-year-old. I want to set a good example. You need your education and can get it at anytime in your life. Preferably when they graduate high school! And that is something I am going to push! I want my boys well-educated and self-sufficient.

   Take it from me, it is never too late to finish your education!

Tell me what u think!

